Clwb Rhwyfo Aberporth Rowing Club Rotating Header Image


Dinas Head 2011

Dinas Head 2011 Rowers

We managed to get 2 teams together for this excellent evening event.  The teams were split to make them as even as possible and it couldn’t have been much closer with Tilly Whim beating Dolwen by just 4 seconds! Tilly Whim completed the course in 1:02:35 and Dolwen in 1:02:39.

Click here for full race report and results

Big thank you to Newport Rowing Club for another great Dinas Head Challenge.

Tilly Whim team:

Chris New, Charlie Millar, Gareth Edwards, Mike Hodges (Newport) & Wendy Cushley (cox)

Dolwen team:

Andy Mayer, Andrew Cushley, Hayley Morris, Oli Box & Lisa Mayer (cox)

Llangwm Race 2011

Tilly Ladies - Ladies Winners Leanne Philips, Donna Philips, Hayley Morris, Kathy French & Tim Ogilvie (cox)

Back to South League Racing with a bang. Aberporth Tilly Ladies get their first ever win! After a slow start they worked their way to the front and held of the challenge from Llangwm and New Quay to claim first place. Excellent performance, hopefully first of many.

Well done all the other crews, good effort everyone!

Our new boat Dyffryn also had its maiden voyage today 🙂

Llangwm Race 2011 Photos

Aberystwyth Race 2011

Aberystwyth Race 2011

Aberystwyth Race 2011

Part two of the double header Joint league race weekend.

It was a really well attended race with 24 boats competing in the mixed race!The first buoy turn was good fun 🙂

Aberystwyth Race 2011 Photos

Aberaeron Race 2011

Aberaeron Harbour

First Joint race of the season. Held on a Saturday so a couple of teams missing but still a great event.

Good effort everyone!

Just a couple of photos from the day.

Aberaeron Race 2011 Photos

Return of the Cleddau 2011

Aberporth Mixed Crew win the Mixed race in the annual Return of the Cleddau Race from Haverfordwest to Neyland!

Cleddau Mixed Race Winners 2011 - Pictures from left to right Chris New, Donna Phillips, Leanne Phillips, cox Wendy Cushley and Andy Cushley

Cleddau Mixed Race Winners 2011 - Pictures from left to right Chris New, Donna Phillips, Leanne Phillips, cox Wendy Cushley and Andy Cushley

Aberporth Race 2011 Photos

Better late than never 🙂

Aberporth Race 2011 photos

Cardigan Race 2011

In difficult conditions all 5 of our teams did really well, in particular the ladies team Tilly Ladies who finished 3rd and Dolwen Mens team who won the Senior race.

Cardigan Race Photos

Aberporth Rowing Race 2011

Clwb Rhwyfo Aberporth Rowing Club 24thApril 2011


Aberporth Dolwen Mens Team - Men's Race Winners (Owen Harries, Andy Mayer, Oli Box, Tim Ogilvie & cox Leanne Phillips)

This was Aberporth’s first race for over 15 years and what a great day it was. 37 crews competed in beautiful conditions and put on a great show for the hundreds of spectators. It was made extra special when in the Men’s race Aberporth came across the line in first place to claim their first ever win.

Race Results

Ladies Race

Position Club Name Crew Name Time
1 Llangwm Mel’s Belles 33.16 Ladies Winners
2 New Quay Wild Ones 33.56 Ladies Vets Winners
3 Llangwm Double D’s 34.06
4 Aberystwyth Aberystwyth 35.08
5 New Quay Charlys Angels 35.30
6 Aberporth Tilly Ladies 35.47
7 PYC Dazzlin Daisies 36.48
8 Aberaeron Aberaeron Vets 37.07 Vets
9 Crannog Crannog Ladies 38.35
10 Mumbles Mumbles 39.14

Seniors Race

Position Club Name Crew Name Time
1 Aberporth Dolwen Men 37.32 Seniors Winners
2 New Quay Trojans 37.51
3 Llanion Llanion Men 37.55
4 Llangwm Kiddles 38.16
5 Llangrannog Crannog Men 1 38.38
6 Aberystwyth Aberystwyth Vets 39.00 Vets Winners
7 Aberporth Tilly Men 39.33
8 Mumbles Mumbles 39.44
9 PYC Whoop a Daisy 40.48
10 New Quay Scorpions 41.16
11 Aberaeron Aberaeron Super Vets 41.36 Supa Vets Winners
12 Crannog Crannog Super Vets 42.51 Vets

Juniors Race

Position Club Name Crew Name Time
1 Llangrannog Crannog Juniors 36.00 Boys U18 Winners

Mixed Race

Position Club Name Crew Name Time
1 New Quay New Quay One 31.11 Mixed Winners
2 Aberystwyth Aberystwyth Mixed 31.22
3 Llangwm The Brokes 32.16
4 Llanion Llanion Mixed 32.38
5 PYC Cheeky Vimtos 33.09
6 Llangwm Double D’s 33.10
7 Aberystwyth Aberystwyth Mixed Vets 33.14 Mixed Vets Winners
8 Aberporth Dolwen Mixed 33.30
9 Aberporth Tilly Mixed 33.54
10 New Quay New Quay Two 34.12
11 PYC Guys & Dolls 34.43
12 Aberaeron Mixed A 35.15
13 Mumbles Mumbles 35.26
14 Aberaeron Aberaeron Mixed Vets 35.35 Vets

Race Pictures will follow soon here, please check later in the week.

The whole day was a great success and wouldn’t have been possible without the following sponsors, donations and helpers on the day.

Trophy Sponsors

Tanygroes Car Dismantlers
O C Davies & Sons Ltd Honda & Renault
Aberporth Community Council
Penrhyn Pharmacy Aberporth
Derek French Plumbing & Property Services
Hoffnant Stores
Loving Memory of Chris Fagan
Loving Memory of Ioan Davies
Bob Mayer Trophy
Quinnell Shield


Deli Delights Cardigan
Kathy’s Kids Childminding Services Aberporth
A Cushley Heating Pacllyn
Golden Dragon Chinese Takeaway Aberporth
Londis Stores Parcllyn


Safety Boats & Lead Boat – Stuart, Kevin, Steve (Tresaith Mariners), Andrew & Ben (Aberporth Surf Life Saving Club), Jimmy (Lead Boat)

BBQ – Ian, Jean, Bev, Fran, Annette, extra special thanks to Richard & Lynne (Ship Aberporth) for saving the day. Refreshments – Rachael & Helen. Marshals – Chris & Danny. PhotographyPaul Fenrich. Time Keeping – Howard & Ryan (Velo Teifi).

Event PA & Race Commentary – Extra special thank you to Dai Ogg who kept the rowers and spectators well informed and entertained throughout the day and to Steve for his in race commentary.

Well done everyone at Clwb Rhwyfo Aberporth Rowing Club, same again next year!

Please click continue reading below and scroll to the bottom to read and leave comments. Many thanks.

Newport Longboat Race April 2011

Newport 2011

Newport 2011

Beautiful day for the first race of the WSRA Celtic longboat season, lets hope they are all like this.

Well done to all our teams, a good club performance!

Newport 2011 Race Photos

Mermaid Race Cardigan 21st August 2010

Mermaid Race 21st August 10 – £1000 prize money

Click here for Race Results and Pictures

Registration 2.00pm – 3.00pm at Station Road, Cardigan ( Cardigan Mart/Ynys Marine slipway)

Cox’s briefing at 3.30pm – 1st Boat away at 4.45pm.

Cardigan Quays Festival events, activities and entertainment throughout the afternoon & evening! More info here

Cardigan Longboat Race 1st August 2010

Cardigan Race 2010

Cardigan Race 2010

Cardigan South League Race – Sunday 1st August 2010

Cardigan Race Pictures

Full race results

Teifi Boat Club, Patch, Gwbert, Cardigan SA43 1PP

Registration 9.00am
Coxes Briefing 9.30am
1st Race 10.00am

Race order: Ladies, Seniors, Juniors, Mixed.  High Tide 11.45am


Solva Race 6th June 2010

New Team Kit

New Team Kit

We are a lot easier to spot now!

Well done to all 4 teams that took part. Race results to follow soon.

PYC Longboat Race 2010 (Pembrokeshire Yacht Club)

PYC 2010 pictures

The 2010 Pembrokeshire Yacht Club WSRA league race was held on Sunday 9th May in good conditions. Aberporth had 3 teams entered and all performed really well. Full PYC 2010 results below. (more…)

Aberporth Rowing Club Hall of Fame

2013 Welsh Club Champions

2013 South League Champions

2013 Ladies Joint League Winners

2013 Ladies South League Winners

2013 Mixed Joint League Winners

2013 Mixed South League Winners

2012 Men South League Winners