Clwb Rhwyfo Aberporth Rowing Club Rotating Header Image

April 11th, 2011:

Aberporth Rowing Race 2011

Clwb Rhwyfo Aberporth Rowing Club 24thApril 2011


Aberporth Dolwen Mens Team - Men's Race Winners (Owen Harries, Andy Mayer, Oli Box, Tim Ogilvie & cox Leanne Phillips)

This was Aberporth’s first race for over 15 years and what a great day it was. 37 crews competed in beautiful conditions and put on a great show for the hundreds of spectators. It was made extra special when in the Men’s race Aberporth came across the line in first place to claim their first ever win.

Race Results

Ladies Race

Position Club Name Crew Name Time
1 Llangwm Mel’s Belles 33.16 Ladies Winners
2 New Quay Wild Ones 33.56 Ladies Vets Winners
3 Llangwm Double D’s 34.06
4 Aberystwyth Aberystwyth 35.08
5 New Quay Charlys Angels 35.30
6 Aberporth Tilly Ladies 35.47
7 PYC Dazzlin Daisies 36.48
8 Aberaeron Aberaeron Vets 37.07 Vets
9 Crannog Crannog Ladies 38.35
10 Mumbles Mumbles 39.14

Seniors Race

Position Club Name Crew Name Time
1 Aberporth Dolwen Men 37.32 Seniors Winners
2 New Quay Trojans 37.51
3 Llanion Llanion Men 37.55
4 Llangwm Kiddles 38.16
5 Llangrannog Crannog Men 1 38.38
6 Aberystwyth Aberystwyth Vets 39.00 Vets Winners
7 Aberporth Tilly Men 39.33
8 Mumbles Mumbles 39.44
9 PYC Whoop a Daisy 40.48
10 New Quay Scorpions 41.16
11 Aberaeron Aberaeron Super Vets 41.36 Supa Vets Winners
12 Crannog Crannog Super Vets 42.51 Vets

Juniors Race

Position Club Name Crew Name Time
1 Llangrannog Crannog Juniors 36.00 Boys U18 Winners

Mixed Race

Position Club Name Crew Name Time
1 New Quay New Quay One 31.11 Mixed Winners
2 Aberystwyth Aberystwyth Mixed 31.22
3 Llangwm The Brokes 32.16
4 Llanion Llanion Mixed 32.38
5 PYC Cheeky Vimtos 33.09
6 Llangwm Double D’s 33.10
7 Aberystwyth Aberystwyth Mixed Vets 33.14 Mixed Vets Winners
8 Aberporth Dolwen Mixed 33.30
9 Aberporth Tilly Mixed 33.54
10 New Quay New Quay Two 34.12
11 PYC Guys & Dolls 34.43
12 Aberaeron Mixed A 35.15
13 Mumbles Mumbles 35.26
14 Aberaeron Aberaeron Mixed Vets 35.35 Vets

Race Pictures will follow soon here, please check later in the week.

The whole day was a great success and wouldn’t have been possible without the following sponsors, donations and helpers on the day.

Trophy Sponsors

Tanygroes Car Dismantlers
O C Davies & Sons Ltd Honda & Renault
Aberporth Community Council
Penrhyn Pharmacy Aberporth
Derek French Plumbing & Property Services
Hoffnant Stores
Loving Memory of Chris Fagan
Loving Memory of Ioan Davies
Bob Mayer Trophy
Quinnell Shield


Deli Delights Cardigan
Kathy’s Kids Childminding Services Aberporth
A Cushley Heating Pacllyn
Golden Dragon Chinese Takeaway Aberporth
Londis Stores Parcllyn


Safety Boats & Lead Boat – Stuart, Kevin, Steve (Tresaith Mariners), Andrew & Ben (Aberporth Surf Life Saving Club), Jimmy (Lead Boat)

BBQ – Ian, Jean, Bev, Fran, Annette, extra special thanks to Richard & Lynne (Ship Aberporth) for saving the day. Refreshments – Rachael & Helen. Marshals – Chris & Danny. PhotographyPaul Fenrich. Time Keeping – Howard & Ryan (Velo Teifi).

Event PA & Race Commentary – Extra special thank you to Dai Ogg who kept the rowers and spectators well informed and entertained throughout the day and to Steve for his in race commentary.

Well done everyone at Clwb Rhwyfo Aberporth Rowing Club, same again next year!

Please click continue reading below and scroll to the bottom to read and leave comments. Many thanks.

Aberporth Rowing Club Hall of Fame

2013 Welsh Club Champions

2013 South League Champions

2013 Ladies Joint League Winners

2013 Ladies South League Winners

2013 Mixed Joint League Winners

2013 Mixed South League Winners

2012 Men South League Winners