Clwb Rhwyfo Aberporth Rowing Club Rotating Header Image

Aberporth Race 2012

What a fabulous day, great weather, great racing and great support!

The sea was quite rough and a mixture of rowing and surfing was required. This made for some fun racing with positions continually changing as teams caught the waves.

New Quay seemed to handle the tricky conditions better than others and took first place in the Seniors, Ladies, Novice, Girls U16′s and Mixed Races.

Of course our regatta wouldn’t have been such a success if it wasn’t for all the fantastic support we had on the day. A massive thank you to all the safety boat crew, all the helpers in the marque, Dai Ogilvie and Steve Harries (race commentary), Gily Llewelyn (photography), Howard & Ryan (time keeping), our race sponsors, our fantastic families and friends aka Green Army and Sue & Terry McGonigle  for our fantastic new club banner.

Well done to all teams that took part and thank you for supporting our event, hopefully see you all again next year!

Aberporth Rowing Regatta Results 29th July 2012


Position Club Crew Name Time
1 New Quay Trojans 33.56 Seniors Winners
2 Aberporth Dolwen Men 34.29
3 Aberystwyth Aber Vets 34.42 Senior Vets Winners
4 Llangwm Llangwm A 34.46
5 Solva Solva A 35.35
6 Llanion Warriors Big Blisters 36.23
7 PYC Salty Sea Nuts 36.57
8 Aberporth Tilly Men 37.08 2nd Vets
9 Mumbles Mumbles men 37.13
10 Aberystwyth Aberystwyth A 37.54
11 Llangwm Stngers 38.40
12 Llanion Warriors Shredded Six Packs 38.54 Super Vets Winners
13 New Quay Sick Note 40.02 2nd Super Vets
14 New Quay Scorpions 41.07
15 Wisemans Bridge Wise Mens 42.06


Position Club Crew Name Time
1 New Quay Wildones 29.09 Ladies Winners
2 Llangwm Mels Belles 29.39
3 Aberporth Tilly Ladies 30.03
4 Aberporth Dyffryn Ladies 31.03
5 PYC Miss B Haven 31.10
6 Llangwm Double D’s 31.35
7 New Quay Charlies Angels 32.04
8 Llanion Warriors Up for it 32.15
9 Aberystwyth A 33.30
10 Aberystwyth Aber Vets 34.19 Ladies Vets Winners
11 Wisemans Bridge Wise Ladies 34.22
12 Mumbles Mubles Ladies 36.27


Position Club Crew Name Time
1 New Quay New Bees 21.22
2 Aberporth Tilly Novices 21.39
3 PYC DASH 21.57
4 Aberporth Dolwen Novices 22.43
5 New Quay Old Bees 27.35



Position Club Crew Name Time
1 New Quay New Quay Dancers 16.45 Under 16 Girls
2 Aberporth Dyffryn Juniors 17.38 Under 18 Open
3 Towy Towy Juniors 17.39 Under 16 Open
4 Aberyswyth Aber Juniors 18.04 Under 16 Girls


Position Club Crew Name Time
1 New Quay One 26.13
2 Llangwm Broke Backs 27.33
3 Aberporth Tilly Mixed 27.44
4 Llangwm Llangwm S&M’s 27.57
5 Llangwm BB’s 28.05
6 Aberystwyth Aber Vets 28.39 Mixed Vets Winners
7 New Quay Two 29.10
8 Aberystwyth Aber B 29.16
9 PYC Aquaholics 29.32
10 Aberporth Dolwen Mixed 29.37
11 Aberporth Dyffryn Mixed 29.38
12 Llanion Warriors Sea Horses 30.02
13 Mumbles Mixed 30.08
14 PYC May Contain Nuts 31.09 2nd Mixed Vets
15 Llanion Warriors Bacon & Eggs 32.02 Mixed Super Vets Winners
16 New Quay Supa Vets 32.47 2nd Mixed Super Vets
17 Wisemans Bridge Wise Medley 34.18
18 Aberaeron Aberaeron Mixed 36.02

Race Photos - Beach Camera Photos    Sea Camera Photos

Aberporth Race flyer

Full race details

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Aberporth Rowing Club Hall of Fame

2013 Welsh Club Champions

2013 South League Champions

2013 Ladies Joint League Winners

2013 Ladies South League Winners

2013 Mixed Joint League Winners

2013 Mixed South League Winners

2012 Men South League Winners