Clwb Rhwyfo Aberporth Rowing Club Rotating Header Image

Aberaeron Race 2012

Aberporth do the double and the Men are crowned League champions!

From front - Oli Box, Owen Harries, Chris New, Andy Mayer & Kathy French (cox)

Aberporth’s Dolwen Men team (Andy Mayer, Chris New, Owen Harries, Oli Box, Tim Ogilvie & cox Kathy French) are the South Wales League Champions after winning their first ever Welsh Joint League Race. Going into the race Aberporth where just one point ahead of rivals Llangwm and so needed to finish ahead of them to cement the league title. Llangwm got off to a flying start and Aberporth where lying in around 4th place half way down the first straight. They didn’t panic though and worked hard to pass  Llangwm, New Quay & Aberdyfi  to get into 1st place going around the final buoy. It was a long slog to home, and despite a great late surge from Mumbles, they held on to win the race by four boat lengths.

Back left to right - Charlotte Bleach, Leanne Philips, Hayley Morris, Kathy French and Carl Rich (cox)

Aberporth Tily Ladies team (Leanne Philips, Hayley Morris, Charlotte Bleach, Kathy French and cox Carl Rich) also ended the season on a high by claiming their first win of the season and also their first ever Welsh Joint League Race win. It was a stunning performance by the ladies who lead the race from start to finish and crossed the line over 10 boat lengths ahead of the league winners New Quay.

Also well done to the Veterans, Novices and Mixed teams who competed well and added to this fantastic day for the club.

And once again a massive thank you to our supporters for coming up and cheering us on, you really are the best!

League tables

Race pictures to follow, check back soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Aberporth Rowing Club Hall of Fame

2013 Welsh Club Champions

2013 South League Champions

2013 Ladies Joint League Winners

2013 Ladies South League Winners

2013 Mixed Joint League Winners

2013 Mixed South League Winners

2012 Men South League Winners